More details

Artistical Director : JEAN-BAPTISTE MERSIOL
Format : CD Musical
Number of CDs : 4

29,99 € tax incl.


Add to my wishlist

+3 loyalty points

2 quantities

Pressed between 1943 and 1949, V Discs (or Victory Discs) boosted the morale of U.S. soldiers at the warfront and kept them up to date with the latest music from home. They were freely distributed but forbidden for sale, and the FBI would even have powers to destroy all copies in circulation at war’s end. Every great artist of the period made a patriotic gesture, and the records contained every genre: jazz, classical, pop, blues and folk. Jazz was fashionable then and took the lion’s share; it became an emblem for the liberators of Europe before spreading across the world. This 4CD set compiled by Jean-Baptiste Mersiol is a portrait in sound of American music trends during World War II, but it also reserves surprises in the form of some fantastic treasures, like the very first version of Louis Prima’s international standard, “Just A Gigolo”, and messages to the troops sent by the artists themselves.


CD 1
01 Put Your Arms Around Me Honey - Bea Wain with Orchestra01'45
02 Sing, Sing, Sing, Pt 1&2 - Benny Goodman and His Orchestra08'40
03 You Are My Sunshine - Bing Crosby02'15
04 Stars And Stripes Forever - Arturo Toscanini and The NBC Symphony03'15
05 Our Director - The Goldman Band02'17
06 Mood Indigo - Duke Ellington and His Orchestra03'04
07 Victory Polka - Kay Kyser and His Orchestra01'57
08 The House I Live in - Earl Robinson03'46
09 Pistol Packkin' Mama - Don Redman and His Orchestra03'30
10 Clair de Lune - Stokowski and The Philadelphia Orchestra05'49
11 You've Got a Hold on Me - Frank Sinatra02'29
12 Rock Daniel - Sister Rosetta Tharpe02'32
13 Message + The Charms of The City Ain't Fer Me - Robinson Carson02'04
14 By The River of The Roses - Woody Herman and His Orchestra02'50
15 Darling, je vous aime beaucoup - Bing Crosby02'07
16 When I Love, I Love - Carmen Miranda02'21
17 Yeah Man - Count Basie and His Orchestra02'41
18 Message + Flyin Home - Lionel Hampton and His Orchestra09'23
19 Mexican Hot Dance - Les Brown and His Orchestra03'07
20 Sleepy Town Train - Glenn Miller and His Orchestra03'04
21 Ritual Fire Dance - Rubinstein Arthur03'22
22 Poor Butterfly - Benny Goodman Trio02'16
23 Sharp as a Tack - Harry James and His Orchestra01'53
CD 2
01 Gypsy Polka - Bill Gale02'45
02 Special Delivery Stomp - Gramercy Five02'40
03 When Our Hearts Were Young and Gay - Jo Stafford03'09
04 Strip Polka - Johnny Mercer02'55
05 White Christmas - Charlie Spivak and His Orchestra02'42
06 Message + Robin Hood - Louis Prima and His Orchestra04'21
07 Miss You - Claude Lucas and His Orchestra01'28
08 Sleep - Benny Carter and His Orchestra02'58
09 Foo a Little Ballyhoo - Cab Calloway03'03
10 American Doughboy - The United States Army Air Forces Band03'10
11 Ain't Goin No Place - Peggy Lee and Her Band02'59
12 Into Each Life - Ella Fitzgerald with The Ink Spots03'08
13 Alec Templeton Impressions - Alec Templeton04'12
14 Walkin' in The Light - The Deep River Boys02'55
15 Minuetto - AAFTAC Symphonette03'12
16 Caribbean Fantasy - The USAAF Band04'55
17 Rosetta - V-Disc All Star Jam Session04'42
18 I Begged Her - Frank Sinatra03'02
19 Love Has Wings - Rise Stevens02'32
20 Corns For My Country - The Andrew Sisters02'50
21 Cancel The Flowers - Charioteers02'47
22 Message + Lonesome Road - 334Th Army Service Forces Orchestra03'22
23 It's Dawn Again - The Three Suns03'44
24 Cielito Lindo - The Mills Brothers01'50
CD 3
01 Plaisir d'amour - Marcelle Denya03'50
02 Red River Valley - The Andrew Sisters02'22
03 I'M Confessin' That I Love You - Louis Armstrong and The V-Disc All Stars03'20
04 Message + No Name Live - Glen Gray and The Casa Loma Orchestra05'23
05 September in The Rain - James Harris03'15
06 Can't Talk It Over - Red Mckenzie and The V-Disc All Stars03'49
07 Blue Danube - Spike Jones and His City Slickers03'29
08 How High The Moon - The Les Paul Trio02'09
09 Just a Gigolo (I Ain't Got Nobody) - Louis Prima and His Orchestra04'24
10 It's a Long Way to Tipperary - Bob Crosby and His V-Disc Bob Cats03'55
11 Homesick, That's All - Frank Sinatra03'13
12 I'll Always Be in Love With You - Ella Fitzgerald and Her Special Servers04'24
13 LST Party - Sam Donahue and The Navy Dance Band04'22
14 The Shrimp Man - Jimmy Mundy03'02
15 Love Is Just Around The Corner - The V-Disc Jumpers04'43
16 Ave Maria - Los Angeles Symphony Orchestra02'18
17 Ride On - Stan Kenton and His Orchestra02'22
18 I Had a Hat - The Three Jesters01'37
19 Message + She's Funny That Way - Art Tatum04'15
20 Circus Polka - Igor Strawinsky & The New York Philharmonic Orchestra03'44
21 All Of Me - The Les Paul Trio02'53
22 Crazy Rhythm - The Three Suns01'28
CD 4
01 Come To The Fair - Carol Brice02'23
02 Message + Frankie & Johnnie, Pt 1&2 - Duke Ellington and His Orchestra07'20
03 Message + Mad About The Boy - Lena Horne01'57
04 Drop Me Off In Harlem - Charlie Barnet and His Orchestra01'52
05 Silent Night - Nelson Eddy01'52
06 Devil, Devil, Devil - Les Brown and His Orchestra03'15
07 Get The Blues When It Rains - Peggy Lee & Les Paul Trio03'24
08 Quiet Riot - Buddy Rich and His Orchestra04'09
09 I'm Checkin' Out, Goom-Bye - Duke Ellington and His Orchestra01'55
10 I'll See You in My Dreams - Ella Fitzgerald and Her V-disc Boys04'06
11 Hate Myself - Buddy Weed02'50
12 Skrontch - Catalina Sextette02'39
13 Lester Leaps in - Lester Young03'04
14 Ma pomme - Maurice Chevalier02'59
15 Bloop Bleep - Woody Herman and His Orchestra02'36
16 Over The Rainbow - Woody Herman and His Orchestra03'16
17 Woody Woodpecker Song - Kay Kyser And His Orchestra02'57
18 Message + You Gotta See Your Mama Every Night - Kay Starr03'04
19 Cigarettes, Whysky And Wild, Wild Women - Red Ingle and Natural Seven02'38
20 Inflation Song - Victor Borge03'17
21 Chicago - Frankie Carle02'51
22 Three Little Words - Raymond Scott Quintet03'29
23 A Night At The Deuces - Randy Brooks and His Orchestra02'56

Customers who bought this product also bought...